Month: August 2012

Imposible is nothing: Oscar Pistorius

Posted on

English: Oscar Pistorius during 2011 World cha...
English: Oscar Pistorius during 2011 World championships Athletics in Daegu (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Kudos to Oscar Pistorius. This week in the Olympics he qualified through into the semi-final, against all odds and against a load of prejudice. That takes guts and commitment.

“He can appreciate how long the journey has been to get to these starting blocks, and he appreciates not just the opportunity but the moment”.

See his form in this video. It tells the story.

He still has the 400 metre relay to compete in, so this is not the end of his competition in the London Games.

No more words are needed. I am inspired. How about you?

Training Schedule: Preparing for 10 October Start Date

Posted on

Olympic Torch, Sydney Olympic Park

Here it is. This is the final training schedule. The dates have changed a little bit since first hatching the idea in March 2010, and there have been many failed attempts along the way. Plenty of lessons learnt, but for now what remains is to do the work and focus on training.

If you want to run together any night (or morning), let me know, and we can meet up and go for a team run together.

The schedule is taken from Tim Noakes’ book Lore of Running, and is the marathon preparation used by veteran coach Bob Williams from Portland, Oregon. The key his training is twice-weekly speed sessions.

Date Running
Training Schedule
Training Week 1/12
Fri, Jul 20, 2012 8 km
Sat, Jul 21, 2012 5 x 800 m
Sun, Jul 22, 2012 8 km
Mon, Jul 23, 2012 5 km on machine
Tue, Jul 24, 2012 Rest
Wed, Jul 25, 2012 24 km
Thu, Jul 26, 2012 Rest
Training Week 2/12
Fri, Jul 27, 2012 8 km
Sat, Jul 28, 2012 3 x 1600 m
Sun, Jul 29, 2012 8 km
Mon, Jul 30, 2012 16 km
Tue, Jul 31, 2012 Rest
Wed, Aug 1, 2012 20 km
Thu, Aug 2, 2012 Rest
Training Week 3/12
Fri, Aug 3, 2012 8 km
Sat, Aug 4, 2012 4 km on machine
Sun, Aug 5, 2012 8 km
Mon, Aug 6, 2012 8 x 200 m
Tue, Aug 7, 2012 Rest
Wed, Aug 8, 2012 24 km
Thu, Aug 9, 2012 Rest
Training Week 4/12
Fri, Aug 10, 2012 8 km
Sat, Aug 11, 2012 4 x 1600 m
Sun, Aug 12, 2012 8 km
Mon, Aug 13, 2012 9 km on machine
Tue, Aug 14, 2012 Rest
Wed, Aug 15, 2012 24 km
Thu, Aug 16, 2012 Rest
Training Week 5/12
Fri, Aug 17, 2012 8 km
Sat, Aug 18, 2012 6 x 200 m
Sun, Aug 19, 2012 8 km
Mon, Aug 20, 2012 5 x 1000 m
Tue, Aug 21, 2012 Rest
Wed, Aug 22, 2012 24 km
Thu, Aug 23, 2012 Rest
Training Week 6/12
Fri, Aug 24, 2012 8 km
Sat, Aug 25, 2012 8 x 400 m
Sun, Aug 26, 2012 8 km
Mon, Aug 27, 2012 7 km on machine
Tue, Aug 28, 2012 Rest
Wed, Aug 29, 2012 20 km
Thu, Aug 30, 2012 Rest
Training Week 7/12
Fri, Aug 31, 2012 8 km
Sat, Sep 1, 2012 5 x 1600 m
Sun, Sep 2, 2012 8 km
Mon, Sep 3, 2012 16 km
Tue, Sep 4, 2012 Rest
Wed, Sep 5, 2012 24 km
Thu, Sep 6, 2012 Rest
Training Week 8/12
Fri, Sep 7, 2012 8 km
Sat, Sep 8, 2012 8 km on machine
Sun, Sep 9, 2012 8 km
Mon, Sep 10, 2012 8 x 200 m
Tue, Sep 11, 2012 Rest
Wed, Sep 12, 2012 24 km
Thu, Sep 13, 2012 Rest
Training Week 9/12
Fri, Sep 14, 2012 8 km
Sat, Sep 15, 2012 6 x 200 m
Sun, Sep 16, 2012 8 km
Mon, Sep 17, 2012 5 x 1600 m
Tue, Sep 18, 2012 Rest
Wed, Sep 19, 2012 24 km
Thu, Sep 20, 2012 Rest
Training Week 10/12
Fri, Sep 21, 2012 8 km
Sat, Sep 22, 2012 8 km
Sun, Sep 23, 2012 8 km
Mon, Sep 24, 2012 6 x 800 m
Tue, Sep 25, 2012 Rest
Wed, Sep 26, 2012 10 km on machine
Thu, Sep 27, 2012 Rest
Training Week 11/12
Fri, Sep 28, 2012 8 km
Sat, Sep 29, 2012 5 x 1600 m
Sun, Sep 30, 2012 8 km
Mon, Oct 1, 2012 16 km
Tue, Oct 2, 2012 Rest
Wed, Oct 3, 2012 20 km
Thu, Oct 4, 2012 Rest
Training Week 12/12
Fri, Oct 5, 2012 8 km
Sat, Oct 6, 2012 5 x 1600 m
Sun, Oct 7, 2012 8 km
Mon, Oct 8, 2012 5 km
Tue, Oct 9, 2012 Rest

What exactly is ‘bridging’?

Posted on

A tale of two bridges. Looking north to Kaesong from South Korea.

Thanks to the inspiration of friends who just keep me going. Most of the time, you never see the difference you make. Especially, a big thank you to Mahei Foliaki for sending this video around which gives a good demonstration of what I am calling ‘bridging’.

Things don’t always work out the way you would like…

We can’t always go it alone. We are stronger together. Sometimes, reaching out for help comes easily, other times not so. A bridge needs supports on both ends…it is not just about one side taking all of the load.

In this case, it is about child mortality. I have been watching things unfold for the last 10 or 15 years, and there is good progress, but too much leaning on too few people doing the work. And too much potential and opportunity going wasted. What if we were to bridge together- our ideas, our resources, ourselves. Could we make more of a difference?

Here, the father comes to the son’s aid. “We’re going to finish together.”

In September 2010, I set out to run the 10 City Bridge Run. So far, things didn’t work out as I had planned. I have learnt a lot in the process, about myself and about how to do/not to do something.

I ended up in 2010 physically damaged so that it was not possible to run through overtraining, and also financially stretched…both situations that were unintended and undesirable. Many people had supported me to that time, and I also believed that the issue was worth pursuing.

So here I am again, lining up and ready to undertake this task commencing 10 October this year.

Never give up. There is work ahead for all of us to do. Join me on this journey. Please do. I am asking you to build a bridge together with me and the rest of the world. Are you in?