Month: September 2012

Inspirational Personal Best Time Recorded in Sydney Marathon

Posted on

The Half Marathon crowd begin to gather - Mils...

My good mate Will Cummins recently completed the Blackmores Sydney Marathon achieving a personal best time. It was his first marathon, and he finished strongly right through to the end.

“Absolutely exhausted” were his words to describe his feeling on the completion of the race, spoken with a very satisfied smile across his face.

Congratulations Will. Top effort!

Here a short interview with Will at the end of the race:

Powered by Mizuno and Sydney Running Centre

Posted on

Sydney Running Centre, located at Edgecliff Station

Thanks to Julian from the Sydney Running Centre located in Edgecliff (Sydney), who has kindly donated a pair of Mizuno running shoes to keep me injury free as I prepare to run around the globe raising awareness to help alleviate child mortality.

The Sydney Running Company has provided great advice to me over the years, taking me from a heaving shoe to something that was lighter and which I have found to be more suitable for my running.

Here is some great advice from Julian in this video. Don’t forget about their free running club on Monday evening at 6.15 pm.

Julian and his team love talking running. I mean, really love talking running! So if you have any questions or want any free advice, they are the people to see.

Thank you! “A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step”. -Lao-tzu

Posted on

Airborne
Airborne (Photo credit: theqspeaks)

Thank you to everyone who has supported Life Bridge and the 10 City Bridge Run since 2010, and especially more recently through the Pozible campaign. The support received is not only financial, but importantly the encourage, advice and feedback people have generously given along the way.

I was out running the other evening and recorded this short video to say thanks. Earlier that evening I had learnt the good news that my crowdfunding has successfully reached its target.

Now, to gird that goodwill together and advance to the next level, one step closer to us together making a difference.

More about my methodology to come shortly.

For now, a big thank you for making this possible.

12.12.12 Design Forum

Posted on Updated on

Seoul, Korea.
Seoul, Korea. (Photo credit: Jaako)

The journey taken during the 10 City Bridge Run will culminate in a Design Forum held in Seoul on 12 December 2012 (12.12.12) to crowdsource good ideas, and to listen and learn from four key questions.

* Q1: What is best practice, and how is that is having an impact? Who is succeeding and why?

* Q2: Is best practice contextually specific? Can good ideas be shared into different and unpredictable environments?

* Q3: What is not working well? Can we map the negative factors that prevent innovative change?

* Q4: How might a human bridge be part of a solution? What might this look like?

An outcome from the Design Forum will be to determine a list of lessons from failure and success titled “10 Tangible Ways To Make A Difference.”

This is a framework to work from, and over the coming three months before the 12.12.12 Design Forum, there will be plenty of good ideas to improve this approach. The Design Forum will be picking up on a great idea from my good friend Kelley Joyce, and looking at ways of how this can be inclusive of other locations outside of Seoul using social media.

Plenty of good ideas. I’m sure you have some of your own. Care to share?

Training Schedule For Commencement Date 10.11.12 (10 November 2012)

Posted on

The start date for the 10 City Bridge Run has been pushed back to make best use of time, allowing for a start date of 10.11.12 (10 November 2012), and finishing in Seoul one month later.

A Design Forum will be hosted in Seoul on 12.12.12 (12 December 2012), and we hope that you will take part even if that means organising your own event where you live. More on that later.

Here is the training schedule for the period ahead:

Training Schedule
Thu, Sep 6, 2012 8 x 200 m
Fri, Sep 7, 2012 Rest
Sat, Sep 8, 2012 24 km
Sun, Sep 9, 2012 Rest
  Training Week 4/12
Mon, Sep 10, 2012 8 km
Tue, Sep 11, 2012 4 x 1600 m
Wed, Sep 12, 2012 8 km
Thu, Sep 13, 2012 9 km on machine
Fri, Sep 14, 2012 Rest
Sat, Sep 15, 2012 24 km
Sun, Sep 16, 2012 Rest
  Training Week 5/12
Mon, Sep 17, 2012 8 km
Tue, Sep 18, 2012 6 x 200 m
Wed, Sep 19, 2012 8 km
Thu, Sep 20, 2012 5 x 1000 m
Fri, Sep 21, 2012 Rest
Sat, Sep 22, 2012 24 km
Sun, Sep 23, 2012 Rest
  Training Week 6/12
Mon, Sep 24, 2012 8 km
Tue, Sep 25, 2012 8 x 400 m
Wed, Sep 26, 2012 8 km
Thu, Sep 27, 2012 7 km on machine
Fri, Sep 28, 2012 Rest
Sat, Sep 29, 2012 20 km
Sun, Sep 30, 2012 Rest
  Training Week 7/12
Mon, Oct 1, 2012 8 km
Tue, Oct 2, 2012 5 x 1600 m
Wed, Oct 3, 2012 8 km
Thu, Oct 4, 2012 16 km
Fri, Oct 5, 2012 Rest
Sat, Oct 6, 2012 24 km
Sun, Oct 7, 2012 Rest
  Training Week 8/12
Mon, Oct 8, 2012 8 km
Tue, Oct 9, 2012 8 km on machine
Wed, Oct 10, 2012 8 km
Thu, Oct 11, 2012 8 x 200 m
Fri, Oct 12, 2012 Rest
Sat, Oct 13, 2012 24 km
Sun, Oct 14, 2012 Rest
  Training Week 9/12
Mon, Oct 15, 2012 8 km
Tue, Oct 16, 2012 6 x 200 m
Wed, Oct 17, 2012 8 km
Thu, Oct 18, 2012 5 x 1600 m
Fri, Oct 19, 2012 Rest
Sat, Oct 20, 2012 24 km
Sun, Oct 21, 2012 Rest
  Training Week 10/12
Mon, Oct 22, 2012 8 km
Tue, Oct 23, 2012 8 km
Wed, Oct 24, 2012 8 km
Thu, Oct 25, 2012 6 x 800 m
Fri, Oct 26, 2012 Rest
Sat, Oct 27, 2012 10 km on machine
Sun, Oct 28, 2012 Rest
  Training Week 11/12
Mon, Oct 29, 2012 8 km
Tue, Oct 30, 2012 5 x 1600 m
Wed, Oct 31, 2012 8 km
Thu, Nov 1, 2012 16 km
Fri, Nov 2, 2012 Rest
Sat, Nov 3, 2012 20 km
Sun, Nov 4, 2012 Rest
  Training Week 12/12
Mon, Nov 5, 2012 8 km
Tue, Nov 6, 2012 5 x 1600 m
Wed, Nov 7, 2012 8 km
Thu, Nov 8, 2012 5 km
Fri, Nov 9, 2012 Rest