marine corps marathon

Training Schedule: Week 4

Posted on

imageHere is this week’s training schedule toward the running of the Marine Corps Marathon in Washing D.C. on 30 October. I’m doing the run in support of an American charity called The Mission Continues, with the aim of stimulating a broader conversation about how we might better address needs for veterans mental health in Australia.

This of course is not the fourth week of training, but a window into my training as I approach the marathon itself. I am recording the final 55 days of training, posting on a weekly basis.

Toward the end of last week, I sensed that the muscles around my shins were showing signs of irritation, and in response I made the decision to rest and stretch more. So, this week I am back running again, feeling fresh and looking forward to the marathon ahead.

My time in sprints on Tuesday was slow, but despite this I felt good with my stride. This is perhaps reflective of my final time in the marathon, and I will know once I am into the race itself. Onwards!

Day Date Load
Day 21 Monday, 26 September 2016 8 km
Day 22 Tuesday, 27 September 2016 5 x 1600 m
Day 23 Wednesday, 28 September 2016 8 km
Day 24 Thursday, 29 September 2016 16 km
Day 25 Friday, 30 September 2016 Rest
Day 26 Saturday, 1 October 2016 33 km
Day 27 Sunday, 2 October 2016 Rest
Advertisements

Training Schedule: Week 3

Posted on

Training Schedule for the Marine Corps Marathon to be held in Washington DC on 30 October supporting The Mission Continues:

Day Date Load
Day 14 Monday, 19 September 2016 8 km
Day 15 Tuesday, 20 September 2016 8 x 400 m, then 4 x 800 m, then 2 x 1600 m
Day 16 Wednesday, 21 September 2016 8 km
Day 17 Thursday, 22 September 2016 7 km running for speed
Day 18 Friday, 23 September 2016 Rest
Day 19 Saturday, 24 September 2016 30 km
Day 20 Sunday, 25 September 2016 Rest

Training Schedule- Week 2

Posted on

Week 2 of the lead-in training schedule ahead of the Marine Corps Marathon to be held in Washington D.C. on 30 October supporting The Mission Continues.

Day Date Load
Day 7 Monday, 12 September 2016 8 km
Day 8 Tuesday, 13 September 2016 6 x 200 m,
then 3 x 400 m,
then 3 x 800 m
Day 9 Wednesday, 14 September 2016 8 km
Day 10 Thursday, 15 September 2016 5 x 1000 m,
then 3 x 400 m,
then 6 x 200 m
Day 11 Friday, 16 September 2016 Rest
Day 12 Saturday, 17 September 2016 27 km
Day 13 Sunday, 18 September 2016 Rest

Thanks…You Inspire Me!

Posted on

IMG_4100Those who have been following might know that I am training for the Marine Corps Marathon to occur on 30 October in Washington D.C.

I find the discipline of following a training schedule difficult at times, and made easier if I can link it to another routine. In this case, it is a 10 minute stretch and abdominal routine to keep me limber for running.

I am asking for you help, in fact it is an invitation to join with me vicariously as I prepare for the marathon. Will you join with me every day through until 30 October for your own 10 minutes of some physical activity that is good for your own wellbeing? It could be meditation, walking the block, or dancing in the lounge room. If I know you are with me, it gives me more motivation to stick to the schedule.

More than this, it is an expression of community, and together with regular physical activity, these are both things that are good for improving mental health.

Please watch the video I made the other day for more details below. I hope I can count on your participation.

Thanks to those who have stepped up already and let me know with a “+10” on my posts. You inspire me! Thank you!

Training Schedule – Week 1

Posted on

In preparing for the Marine Corps Marathon on 30 October 2016, here is my training schedule:

Day Date Load
Day 1 Tuesday 6 September 2016 4 x 1600 m
Day 2 Wednesday, 7 September 2016 24 km
Day 3 Thursday, 8 September 2016 8 km
Day 4 Friday, 9 September 2016 Rest
Day 5 Saturday, 10 September 2016 9 km
Day 6 Sunday, 11 September 2016 Rest